We'll help you get back to what you love

Alaska Car Accident Report Basics

Alaska Car Accident Repor…

Car accidents are sometimes unavoidable even if you’re a careful driver. While you cannot prevent fender-benders at all times, understanding your legal obligations after an accident is important. However, consulting an Alaska car accident attorney would be the point to start. You may be having many questions if you or a loved one has recently suffered injuries resulting from a car accident in Alaska.

Some of the things car accident victims ask themselves can include whether they have a claim, where to seek help, how to file an accident report in Alaska, and more. An Alaska car accident attorney can help you answer all questions after a car accident.

Reporting an Auto Accident–Your Obligations

In Alaska, you’re required to a car accident with the police within 24 hours after the crash or report the accident to Alaska’s Division of Motor Vehicles, or both. If the police appeared at the accident scene and conducted an investigation, they will generate an accident report within 24 hours of the incident.

Failing to report an accident can attract hefty penalties in Alaska, including:

  • Driver’s license suspension;
  • A fine of up to $200; or
  • 90-day imprisonment.

Also, making a false or exaggerated car accident report attracts a fine of up to $1,000, 12 months’ imprisonment, or both.

Steps to Reporting an Accident in Alaska

  1. Collect Necessary Information

The following details must be provided in an accident reporting form in Alaska, including:

  • Driver's License detail, such as name and DL number;
  • Your insurer’s information, including name, contact details, policy number, and more.
  • Car owners' information, such as year of manufacture, model, and registration details;
  • Details related to the other driver, such as name, and contacts; and
  • Car and insurance information of the other motorist.
  1. Fill out and Sign the Form

Accident report forms can either be filled electronically (PDFs) or printed and completed manually (by hand). Such forms MUST be completed by the motorist involved in the crash. The information provided should be accurate and free of any exaggerations. Also, all spaces and boxes in the form should be filled or checked with accurate information as aforementioned. The report should be detailed, yet short, clear, and concise. After providing all the required information, do not forget to sign the form. You’re allowed to use a PDF application when signing an electronic form or the printed copy.

  1. Submit the Completed Form to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

Beware that there’s no way to retrieve accident report forms once submitted hence, always remember to make a copy of the form before submitting it. After verifying that everything is in order, send the completed form to:

For electronic form, email:
doa.dmv.ads@alaska.gov

For hard copies, send a mail to:

State Of Alaska
Division of Motor Vehicles
Attn: Driver Services
3901 Old Seward Hwy, State 101
Anchorage, AK 99503-6089

 Car accidents must be reported within 24 hours in Alaska. The parties involved in an accident may report to the police, the Division of Motor Vehicles, or both.

Categories: Auto Accidents
Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

keyboard_arrow_up